What is the Best Micro-Controller for a Beginner to Use for Coding in C?

• Thread starter Yportne
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Micro
In summary: Basic...programming.In summary, the newbie is looking for a microcontroller to toy around with and is using a basic stamp as his basis for knowledge. He needs a C compiler and uC with enough memory for data storage. The basic stamp is actually a PIC uC with an interpreter so that you can use PBASIC. PICs or AVR uCs can all be programmed very easily using (freely) available C compilers. He has looked at the C Stamp and the Picaxe chips.
Yportne
hey guys...i'm looking for a micro-controller to toy around with. I'm a newbie so bare with me with a couple newbie questions...Is their a micro that can run straight c code or do I have to do it in assembly?

I need it to be able to store a little bit of data much like a variable stores data...only a few kilobytes worth.

I also need to to be able to do simple computing on the data much like a basic C program could do with logic operators and basic I/O with other parts.

Does this make sense or am I a little lost? I've found many micro controllers but I don't understand their spec sheets and I can't find their assembly data sheet that shows me how to code them :(I bought and complete a micro-controller education kit that showed me how to code a basic stamp...so I'm kind using that as my basis for micro-controller knowledge. With a stamp I can move a servo, light up LED's change how fast they blink etc.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Yportne said:
hey guys...i'm looking for a micro-controller to toy around with. I'm a newbie so bare with me with a couple newbie questions...

Is their a micro that can run straight c code or do I have to do it in assembly?

I need it to be able to store a little bit of data much like a variable stores data...only a few kilobytes worth.