Self-taught computer science/engineering curriculum?

In summary: I would recommend checking out "Computer Architecture: A Concise Introduction" by David Patterson. It's relatively short and should give you a good understanding of how computers work.In summary, Chris is looking to learn more about computer science and engineering, and is interested in problem solving for the sake of learning. He recommends Project Euler as a good way to start. He also recommends learning computer architecture from David Patterson.
kcaco10
Hello all,

I am not sure if formal introductions are required on this forum, but my name is Chris and I have degrees in physics and mechanical engineering. My current job is unrelated to these fields, but I hope to get an engineering-related job soon.

In any event, I have been antsy lately to exercise my mind and advance my knowledge of computer science and engineering. Specifically, I would like to learn both the physical and theoretical basis of computers, learn about software and hardware, and coding and programming as well. I took some EE and logic courses in college, and of course calc and diff eqs, which may help a bit. I was hoping that someone could recommend a self-taught program and some good books to help along the way.

Computer science news on Phys.org
What language/paradigm do you want to learn the most? And more importantly, what do you want to do with what you learn?

I suppose I am interested in process-oriented programming...I am more interested in learning how computers operate and how to build programs to assist in solving problems rather than for the purpose of developing games, applications, etc.

I don't know what process oriented programing is. Is it something like multiprocessing or something? If it is, multiprocessing can usually be achieved in any language, given the APIs. I would suggest you learn something like C or C++, because of how ubiquitous they are.