Can two things happen at EXACTLY the same time?

• Thread starter michael98
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Time
In summary: However, the question of when exactly this occurs would be something that would need to be determined by the observers.
michael98
sorry if i typed this too hard to understand. I am also new to this stuff so don't make fun of me if this is actually an easy question.

is it possible for two things to happen at the same EXACT time? for example, if two cars were racing to see who could get the fastest time and they both got a time of 10.5 seconds, you would need to to look at the hundreths of the second to see which car's time was faster. but if the times were still the same in the hundreths of the second, then you would look into the thousandths of the second. if every time you looked into a smaller portion of the second and it still came out with the same time, you would either keep doing this for infinite or until you finally saw that one car had a faster time. so does this mean two things can't happen at the EXACT same time?

Physics news on Phys.org
You could conceivably keep getting further down into shorter time periods, but somewhere along the line you will run into the problem of not being able to measure them. So the short answer is that yes, to the best of our measurements it is possible for two things to happen at the same time. Beyond that is beyond my ability to answer.

A theoretical example of two things happening at the same time would be pair production, where photons produce an electron and a positron. Both the electron and positron were 'produced' at EXACTLY the same time (One might say that the two are precisely as old as each other. If you had particles that decay, instead of electrons, this might be something you could measure).