Should I do my Masters on something more specific than my degree?

In summary: Mechanical engineering is a very broad field so you may want to look into other fields as well.There are many jobs available, but they may require different qualifications.Some jobs may require a specific degree, but other jobs may not.It really depends on the company.
socrates_1
Hi,I am studying mechanical engineering and I am going to apply for my masters in a few months.However, I am wondering if I should do my masters in Advanced Mechanical Engineering or in Fluid mechanics & Power Cycles.
What do you think?If I do my masters in something more specific, is this going to limit my employment opportunities?
thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
In my opinion getting a specific masters will limit your employment opportunities. However it will open more advanced jobs as well.

socrates_1 said:
Hi,I am studying mechanical engineering and I am going to apply for my masters in a few months.However, I am wondering if I should do my masters in Advanced Mechanical Engineering or in Fluid mechanics & Power Cycles.
What do you think?If I do my masters in something more specific, is this going to limit my employment opportunities?
thank you.

so you have no idea what kind of job or field you'd like to work in?

Raioneru said:
so you have no idea what kind of job or field you'd like to work in?

Thank you for your reply.I know that I want a job related in thermo-fluid mechanics.Either in aeronautics and aerodynamics or in the oil and gas industry.However, I am not really sure that I will find the job I want(like everyone). If I do my masters on something specifc, when applying for other engineering positions, candidates with Masters in Advanced Mechanical Engineering will have an advance.

socrates_1 said: