REU for International Students: Need Info?

In summary, the author is looking for advice on whether or not they have a chance of being accepted into a summer research program at a top university. They have good grades and background in mathematics, but they are not sure if they have the necessary research experience.
sutupidmath
Hi all,

I am planning to apply for some REU during the summer of 2009, but since i am an international student, i am facing difficulties finding a programm that accepts international students, and most importantly that offers financial aid to international students, since i cannot afford it from my own pocket.

So, i was wondering if someone of you out there knows a program that accepts international students?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi again!

I found that there is actually a program that accepts international students, and that actually pays them, so they can cover housing, meal expences etc.

THis is SURF( Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship) at CALTECH.

But, my question now is that, what would my chances for getting accepted in such a program be. Since Caltech is a top university, is it about the same difficulty to get in such a summer program as it would be to get in Caltech as an undergraduate?

My background so far is:

1. I have no past research experience
2. The courses that i will have taken( that would be by the end of my 3rd semester) by the beggining of the summer research program are:
Elementary Functions;Elementary Statistics 1; Calculus 1, 2,3; Elementary Linear Algebra, Abstract Algebra, Ordinary Differential Equations; and i am also planning to do an independent study the upcoming semester but only if that would be critical for being accepted in any of REU's.
SO far i have a GPA of 4.0 and i expect to have a gpa on a range 3.85-4.0 by that time also.