Confused about answer key's solution to a work/energy problem

• Thread starter physics801
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Confused
In summary, the student is frustrated with problem 1d in their physics placement exam. They have attempted to solve it using a diagram and have referenced the solution manual, but are confused about the use of x_{max} and x in the solution. After discussing with others, it is clarified that x is measured down the slope and therefore is (-x)-(-x_{max}). It is also important to check the sign of the result, which in this case is negative due to the direction of x.
physics801
I'm studying for my college's physics placement and I'm frustrated because I don't get the solution to problem 1d.

Homework Statement

The problem is here: http://ocw.edu.ht/courses/physics/8-01-physics-i-classical-mechanics-fall-1999/exams/exam_2.pdf

Solution manual is here: http://ocw.edu.ht/courses/physics/8-01-physics-i-classical-mechanics-fall-1999/exams/quiz2_sol.pdf

The Attempt at a Solution

I drew a mspaint diagram of what I have: http://cl.ly/image/3b1o082l1k3a ([itex]x_{max}[/itex] is defined in 1a, which is in the soln manual)

Basically since gravity is opposing the direction of travel (up the ramp), I think the solution to 1d(i) should be [itex]work=-mg(h-h_{max})=-mgsin\theta(x-x_{max}).[/itex] However the solution manual has the same thing except [itex]x_{max}-x[/itex] in the parentheses. Why is this? Shouldn't it be [itex]final - initial[/itex], which means [itex]x-x_{max}[/itex] in the parentheses?

edit: I also have the same question for 1d(ii) and (iii) but hopefully it will be answered by explaining (i)

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
You have to decide which way is positive and stick to it.
If the force due to gravity is being taken as negative along the slope then the positive direction is up the slope. But x is measured down the slope, so it's (-x) - (-xmax)