Is Research Aptitude Innate or Can It Be Developed?

• Thread starter veejay
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Research
In summary, the question of whether research aptitude is innate or can be developed is a combination of both. While some aspects can be developed with proper training, there are certain innate qualities that are required for success in research. It is also important to have a love for research and a curiosity to learn. It is not necessary to pursue a PhD, as there are many other career paths in both industry and academia that can be pursued. However, if one is dedicated and patient, they can be successful in research, but it is not failure-proof. Ultimately, it is important to make an informed decision and have a strong passion for research before pursuing a PhD.
veejay
dear all,

i'm a student just amateurly exposed to research.
what i want to know is whether research aptitude is innate or is it something that can be developed as one progresses in life?
i ask this because, a few ppl that i recently came across proclaim that the reason they don't consider phd as an option is coz they arent 'phd material'.
is there any such thing like that?
from what i know about scientific research, i find it very interesting but i don't know whether i just know it superficially. since rite now I'm at crossroads faced with options of an industry job and university research, i want to make an informed decision. I'm afraid that i might not be 'research material' in the future..
if one is dedicated and patient, is research 'failure-proof' ?

thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
veejay said:
dear all,

what i want to know is whether research aptitude is innate or is it something that can be developed as one progresses in life?