Why Can Some Electromagnetic Waves Pass Through Materials While Others Cannot?

In summary: Basically, if the electromagnetic energy of the light is of a frequency that a molecule in the material can absorb, then the light will be able to pass through. However, if the energy of the light is too high, the molecule will be ionized and the light will not be able to pass through.
esmeralda4
Hi all. I'm an A Level Physics student and my teacher couldn't really answer this question i had..

Why can Radio Waves, Micro Waves, X Rays and Gamma Rays go through things (like walls etc) but the others can not.

My understanding is that they are all just different frequencies of photon wobble??

Physics news on Phys.org
I can't give you a very technical answer, because it's not an area of study for me. Basically, though, it's the properties of the material that make the difference. Visible light will go through translucent or transparent solids, while X-rays won't go through dense stuff like lead.

I can understand if it's to do with the increase in energy - therefore gamma is most penetrating but what I really don't get is why radio waves go through most stuff?

Matter is mostly empty space, so the question isn't why do some waves can go through matter, but why are there some frequencies where the waves *cannot* go through. Those are are around the frequencies where photon energy closely matches the gaps between the energy levels of electrons. If a light with a frequency around the range of infrared, visible or ultraviolet goes through an atom, there's a good chance that an electron will absorbs it and use the energy to jump up to a higher energy state.

Molecules also have energy states. If the amount of energy is right, a molecule can absorb a photon and use that energy to vibrate or rotate, so you would have increased the temperature of the material.

Last edited:
esmeralda4 said: