Question on partial derivative

In summary, the conversation is about a partial derivative that was used in a homework assignment. The person is unsure about the assumption made and is asking for someone to prove that it is zero. They mention that the partial derivative came up in their proof about fluid dynamics and that u is the velocity. The person also shares the term they tried to prove being positive and asks if the term ∂iuj ∂jui can be set equal to zero and why.
Samoht
I just handed in a homework where I used the assumption below

iujjui=0 ?

but when I start thinking about it I'm not so sure, could someone prove to me that it is zero? Or is that assumption totally off?

Regards

Physics news on Phys.org
Is there summation over i and j?
Is u something special, or just an arbitrary vector?

This partial derivative came up in my proof that the rate of strain in fluid dynamics is always positive. u is the velocity and I believe that there is summation but I am very new at this.

The term I tried to prove being positive is:

iuj((∂iuj+∂jui)-2/3 ∂kuk δij)

When I multiply ∂iuj into the outer bracket then I get

(∂iuj(∂iuj+∂jui)-2/3 ∂kuk δijiuj)

which in my mind becomes

(∂iujiuj+∂iujjui)-2/3 ∂kuk δijiuj

the right side of the minus sign can be simplified to 2/3 (∂kuk)2

My question relates to the second term in the remaining bracket. Can the term ∂iujjui be set equal to 0? AND, if so why?

Regards

1. What is a partial derivative?

A partial derivative is a mathematical concept that measures the rate of change of a function with respect to one of its variables, holding all other variables constant. It is denoted by ∂ (pronounced "partial") and is commonly used in multivariable calculus and physics.

2. How is a partial derivative calculated?