Is statistical thermodyanmics worth taking if your an ME?

• Thread starter Topher925
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Statistical
In summary, the conversation revolves around an ME grad student's interest in taking a statistical thermodynamics class to gain a better understanding of energy, reactions, and entropy on a micro level. They are also considering a combustion course, but it may not relate to their research as much. The student is unsure if their lack of physics background will make the class overwhelming, but the other person shares that a familiarity with entropy and ensembles is vital for continued research in physics and materials science. They also mention that learning about heat, work, and entropy can greatly impact one's understanding of material properties, dynamics, and force equilibrium.
Topher925
I'm an ME grad student in the thermal fluids area and a lot of my work involves electrochemistry, a little bit of inorganic chemistry, and optics, along with fluid and energy transport (fuel cells and stuff). I'm considering taking a statical thermodynamics class this fall to help me better understand things like energy of reactions and the production of entropy on the micro level. My other option is to take a combustion course mostly covering the thermal science of internal combustion engines which doesn't really relate my research a whole lot.

I haven't taken a physics course since my gen ed intro to EM class I took when I was an undergrad. Would taking ST be a good idea for me since I don't have much of a physics background or would I just find myself overwhelmed by the material?

Physics news on Phys.org