Lifting Hovercrafts with Thermocoal Sheet

• Thread starter jack001
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Lifting
In summary: Sid is suggesting.In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of hovercraft design and specifically addresses issues with lifting and controlling a hovercraft using a donut-shaped skirt and a motor with a specific rpm. Suggestions are given for improving the design, including using a thrust augmenter and lightweight batteries. The conversation also includes a link to a website with a hovercraft design calculator.
jack001
At present i m working on a hovercraft. Bt the problem is thati can't lift it.. The material i used isthe lightest of all that is thermocoal sheet which weighs approx 145-175gm. So tell me watshould be the motor rpm to lift this junk.. Is there any formula 2 lift this material.. Thnx in advance

Engineering news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF, Jack.
Hovercraft are among my favourite subjects, but I'm by no means an expert. My amateur opinion is that if it doesn't lift, there's a design flaw rather than a lack of power. Skirt leakage would be my first suspect. There really isn't much airflow required to get one off of the ground. I was hugely surprised to realize that getting my (designed but not built) 6-seater off of the ground requires something like 4 horsepower... and it's designed around a 400 horsepower engine. (Oh well, I guess that the excess will have to go into propulsion.)
As for formulae, try a forums search. Russ Watters posted a very involved set of equations for specifically this purpose a few years back. They will be very helpful to you.

Thnx for ur reply.. And bro i m not getting formulae post.. Can u link here please.. And i checked skirt as it is perfect nd no leakage ws found.

jack001 said:
Thnx for ur reply.. And bro i m not getting formulae post.. Can u link here please.. And i checked skirt as it is perfect nd no leakage ws found.