Find the centroid of the solid region ?

In summary, the conversation is about a student seeking help with a problem from their calculus textbook. They are taking a summer class and want to impress their professor by understanding the material. The problem in question involves finding the centroid of a solid region bounded by three equations, and the student is struggling to understand how to approach it. Other forum members offer tips and suggestions, including using multiple integration and considering the symmetry of the figure. The conversation ends with the student being encouraged to work through the problem using single-variable calculus techniques.
CalleighMay
Hey guys! I have been on the forum for about a week or so and have compiled a lot of information and techniques to help me understand calculus, so i really appreciate everyone's help!

I am a soon-to-be freshman in college and am taking a summer class, calculus II (took calc I in HS). This is our last week of class after our final exam so my professor is taking this time to give us a preview of what we will be learning in the fall semester in Calc III (since this is the same professor). Every Tuesday class our professor gives us a few problems from future sections and asks us to "see what we can come up with" and to work together to find solutions. The following Tuesday he asks us to discuss the problems as a class, seeing which ones of us know our stuff =P

Basically, i want to ask you guys what you think about these problems as i do them along before i have my discussion. I really want to make a lasting impression on my professor by "knowing my stuff" -to show him i can do it! All's i need is a little help! Would you guys mind giving me some help?

We are using the textbook Calculus 8th edition by Larson, Hostetler and Edwards and the problems come from the book.

The problem is on pg 1033 in chapter 14.6 in the text, number 44. It reads: