How to design a ciruit that has 2 LED Lights

In summary, the circuit has two LED lights that flash on and off and make noise, and a speaker to produce sound. It needs two timers to produce different tones and one to control the light flashing.
Muhammad1993
How to design a ciruit that has 2 LED Lights ...

I want to design a circuit for the sake of me seing if i can do it. I need the following things 2 LED Lights which are flashing on and off and make noise relative to when there on or off ( like a police siren ) and also i need to house all of this in a toy car which i am going to put a motor in and make it go forward. I am a total amateur so please if anyone can tell me how to do this it would be very much appreciated.

Engineering news on Phys.org

You could start with something like this:

[URL]http://freecircuitdiagram.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/05/led-flasher-555.gif[/URL]

This uses a 555 integrated circuit which is available at almost any electronics supply store.

Notice that R1 and R2 are not given. They control the flash rate of the LEDS.

Try 10 K for R1 and 100 K for R2. This will give a flash rate of 1.5 seconds with each LED being on for half this time.
Making a sound could use a similar circuit with the top LED and R3 removed and the speaker connected instead of LED2. Make R4 47 ohms.

You would also need to change the resistors to 1 K for R1 and 10 K for R2 and change the capacitor to 0.1uF. This gives a frequency of about 600 Hz.

These can be changed but try to keep the resistors in the same 10 to 1 ratio.

Making the frequency of the second oscillator depend on the flashing rate of the first one would be done by connecting a 100 K resistor from pin 3 of the first chip to pin 5 of the second one.

This resistor can be changed to get more or less shift in frequency.

Last edited by a moderator: