SUmmer Research Opportunities/Science Programs

In summary, a sophomore on Collegeconfidential is looking for research opportunities and summer programs for high school sophomores. Suggestions were given for programs such as Summer Science Program, NASA SHARP, Astronomy Camp, and Lawrence Berkeley Labs. The conversation also touched on the idea that some schools require calculus before taking physics, and that some universities offer summer research opportunities for high school students.
Simfish
Gold Member
Hi,

I'm a sophomore who already goes to Collegeconfidential (and to the CTY website_; but I'd still like to know if any of you know of any research opportunities/summer programs for HS sophomores. I'm going to apply to SUmmer Science Program and NASA SHARP - any other suggestions? I'm an Asian male, btw.

Physics news on Phys.org
Simfishy said:
I'm an Asian male, btw.
Just curious... how does this relate to your post? :confused:

MathStudent said:
Just curious... how does this relate to your post? :confused:

It means he isn't eligible to apply for programs geared toward minorities and women.

Simfishy, are you specifically interested in physics opportunities, or any science research opportunity?

ANy science research opportunity - unfortunately, due to the fact that sophomores cannot take a physics class, I am only taking a chemistry class at the current moment. But I'm also taking calculus - which can be a HUGE boost - since few sophs take calc..

Have you contacted universities near you? Try their websites. Many universities offer summer research opportunities for high school students, but they aren't always broadly advertised.

I think you have to already be a junior to be eligible for nasasharp..

Astronomy Camp
Summer Science Program