Rough OoM Estimate for Number of HW Problems Assigned

• Thread starter Ackbach
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Estimate
In summary: The class is definitely too short (I'd say it's barely adequate for a college freshman), and the homework is too light. I'd say you should assign at least 30 problems, and up to 45 if you want to make sure they're really getting the concepts.
Ackbach
Gold Member
MHB
I'm just starting out teaching in a US high school, and I have AP Physics B that I'm taking over in the Spring. I've never taught physics before except in a tutoring context. All my students are seniors, and are taking 7 classes total! Each of those classes meets 4 times per week. So I can't just go wild and assign 30 problems every night. The total amount of time seniors spend on homework for all their classes needs to be about two hours a day. And the last piece of background info you need to answer my question is that, generally, I'm planning on doing a very short lecture in class (say, 10-15 minutes), followed by the students working on their "homework" sets in class, with me walking around and helping individual students. So they will have 35-40 minutes to work on their problem sets in class. I'm planning on collecting homework every day, except for quiz and test days.

Given all this info, what do you think is a reasonable number of homework problems to assign each day?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Science news on Phys.org
I can speak from a student's perspective who has taken AP Physics B. If you chose to have students work through the problems during class, it's reasonable to assign 15 core problems (plug into the formulas) and 5 challenge problems, which would yield 30 and 40 minutes each.