Black holes & expanding universe

In summary, de-Sitter space is static and there is no problem with black holes existing in it. The event horizon gets shifted a bit, that's the only effect.
ifarcas
Hello everyone. I'm a beginner with questions :rolleyes:

Can someone tell me what happens with black holes in an expanding universe? If the fabric of the universe is expanding wouldn't this result into weaker interactions inside the black hole up to the point when the black hole cannot hold the matter togeder? Wouldn't this result into a big explosion caused by interparticle forces overcoming the gravitational force? If so then wouldn't this contradict the idea that nothing escapes a black hole?

Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
Black holes do not hold matter together, and there is probably no matter interaction inside a black hole. In fact nobody knows what happens to matter once it crosses the event horizon. So we certainly do not know what happens inside a black hole regardless of the expanding universe.

Besides, the expanding universe should have no effects on the interior dynamics of a black hole, just as the expanding universe has no effect on us or anything else.

Last edited:
On second thoughts, isn't there a thing as "gravitational memory"? If there is then surely the Black hole "remembers" it's effective gravitational constant at the instant it forms? Then it must remain constant at it's surface as it evolves in time. This would result in some strange things happening.

On the other hand, if the the grav. constant changes with time, then it must do so as to compensate for the expanding universe such that the size of the Black Hole can always be approximated by the formula R = 2GM. I think this sounds like a better explanation. But I am not sure if I can simply rule out that thing called "gravitational memory" (if it exists at all! Maybe someone can help there).