Is an RFID Warehouse Tag System the Solution for Efficient Inventory Tracking?

In summary, the idea is to use RFID and bar code scanning to track items in a facility, such as a library or warehouse. The concept involves using LED strips and different colors and flash timings to locate specific items. The system would also be able to identify misplaced items and notify the librarian or inventory manager. However, the difficulty of retrofitting this system into an existing location has not been fully considered. It may be more feasible to implement it in new installations with pre-installed shelves.
cnichols785
I had this idea a while ago but having just finished reading an article about the recent increase in college-aged entrepreneurs, I was inspired. At present, I am a freshman math major at a small state college in Vermont. I plan to transfer into a competitive Economics/Mechanical Engineering program next year but for now, my technical knowledge is limited to say the least.

The Reason for my Idea:

Any organization that is responsible for maintaining a large inventory needs a system to keep track of this inventory. With RFID and bar code scanning, it fairly easy to track an item when it either leaves or arrives at a facility. However, when the item is on-site, tracking can be a little more difficult. Although I'm sure that many business facilities are more efficient than libraries, the library will serve as a good example. The Dewey-Decimal system certainly works, but there is an easier way.

The idea:

1. You walk into the library and go to one of the computer catalogs
2. You search for the book/books you want and click an on-screen button "Locate Now"
3. The computer displays a message "Row 300 Look For 2 Short Blue Flashes"
4. You make your way to Row 300 and a find section of one of the LED strips running along the edge of each shelf that is blinking with two short blue flashes
5. Directly above the flashes is the book you are looking for