27year old math major going into physics

In summary, a 27-year-old with a B.S. in pure mathematics and a 3.0 GPA is seeking opinions on their chances of being accepted into a physics/astronomy PhD program. They have a strong interest in these fields, but their lack of passion for math led to poor grades in graduate courses. They plan to take additional physics courses and have a 1-year-old daughter, hoping to inspire her to follow her passions. The conversation also includes advice on possibly pursuing a second bachelor's degree in physics to improve their chances of being accepted into a program.
planethunter
Hello all,

I want to know your opinions on my situation.

I am 27 years old. I graduated from Cal State Long Beach in 2005 with a B.S. in pure mathematics. My gpa was not that great (3.0) and started the masters in applied math program the following year but got an F and then a C in a course (complex analysis and pde, resp). I think I just wasn’t passionate about math anymore. My passion has always been astronomy and physics, and I wanted to get a good foundation in math so that is why I majored in math. I keep up to date with physics news as well as study it on my own. I took undergraduate mechanics my freshman year and got a B in the course, but I have not taken anymore physics since then.

I would like to be able to study physics/astronomy at the PHD level but given the standards of admission for any school in California, and given the sh$%ty economy here, I think I might have to go out of state to get into a program.

Before and since I graduated, I have worked as a civil engineer and currently work in the accounting field. I know that these are not my passions and ultimately I want to become a physics professor/researcher. I have a 1 year old daughter with my wife, and I feel that I want to show her that anything is possible and not to settle for the sure thing career like medicine, law, etc. But to follow your passions instead.