Divergence-free polarization of dielectric

In summary, the conversation discusses the physical meaning of a non-vanishing polarization field with non-trivial constitutive relation and vanishing divergence, and whether it can be considered a dielectric. The concept of bound and free charges and the definition of polarization in optics is also mentioned. An example of a material with non-trivial polarization is a free electron gas. The Landau, Lifshetz, Electrodynamics of continuous media is recommended for further understanding.
cliowa
Hey all,
I'm studying laser-matter interactions and was wondering: Is there any physical meaning to a non-vanishing polarization field with non-trivial constitutive relation but vanishing divergence? (By non-trivial I mean the constitutive equation does not stipulate that the polarization and electric fields are directly proportional) Is this a model for anything? Could you think of a situation where one starts out (at a given time) with a non-zero, divergence-free polarization field (and let's it evolve according to the MW equations and the constitutive equation)?

From what I have seen so far in textbooks a divergence-free polarization field implies that the density of bound charges in the dielectric is zero. Can that still be considered a dielectric? Does such a thing ever arise, and if yes, in what context?

Thanks a lot for your help...Cliowa

Physics news on Phys.org
The divergence of the polarization is by definition the density of the charges in the medium (i.e. those charges which are not external). In optics one usually sets magnetization M=0. Hence polarization has to describe all magnetic effects, i.e. the effects of currents with non-vanishing rotation. Such a transversal non-vanishing current possible even if the medium is neutral in every point.

Thanks for that clarification. When you say
DrDu said: