Maximizing College Time: Majoring in Physics/Astronomy in 5 Years

In summary, the conversation is about a student's dilemma of wanting to take more classes in their major but not having enough time in the traditional four-year degree plan. They mention discovering a 5-year degree plan for double majors and considering following it to fit in all the desired courses. The conversation also touches on the student's hope of getting into a graduate program at their current school and whether the extra year will hurt their chances. The overall consensus is that the extra year may actually be beneficial for the student's application, but it is generally not recommended to attend the same school for both undergraduate and graduate studies. The cost of an extra year and the possibility of not receiving scholarships for it are also mentioned.
Ceenaya19
I'm majoring in Physics and Astronomy, and I am going to be a sophomore next year. My problem is that there are so many cool classes that I want to take that 4 years won't be enough time to complete them all; this is true even though I went into college with 30 credits from my credit-by-exam program. I looked around on my school's Astronomy Department website and noticed that there is a 5-year degree plan offered for students who are double majoring. I figure that I could follow this plan and replace the 30 credits of classes that I entered college with, with the classes that I want to take. I really enjoy the subjects covered in these classes, so most likely I will follow this 5-year plan anyway, but I would still like to know.

Also, my hope is to get accepted into the graduate program at my current school (UT Austin). Thanks al lot to whomever answers.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org

On the contrary, it could turn out to your advantage.
It's nice that you want to do more courses.
With the extra year you get, you could even do more research.
All these are positive points on your application.