Help How to solve a set of 12 partial differential equations with 8 variables.

In summary, the speaker is a master student working on monopole instanton solutions using the Lagrangian method and Matlab software. They have encountered difficulties with convergence and are seeking advice on how to solve the 12 set equations of motion with 8 variables using Matlab. The speaker is advised to use appropriate numerical methods, an adaptive approach, and possibly explore other software packages designed for solving PDEs.
tiantsai
Hi, I am a master student comes from USM in Malaysia. My main focus is on monopole instanton solution in static form which did not include time, i using the Lagrangian to generate out the 12 set equations of motion with 8 variables, the software that i use is Matlab with Optimization toolbox- the algorithm that i use inside the package is trusted reflective region and the numerical method that i used is finite difference method. However, it did not converge. I have tried to reproduce the Jutta Kunz paper-monopoles solution with 6 set of partial differential equation with 6 variables and its work well and i can get the Higgs field of monopole successfully. The varibale is in r and theta form which means as A(r,theta). So any suggestion for using Matlab to solve the 12 set equations of motion (PDE form) with 8 variables.

Physics news on Phys.org