Dipole antenna theory: a few questions

In summary: I don't understand the beamwidth thing at all. How is it calculated?Gain is focusing power in the crudest terms. A dipole is 2.16 dB ( I think) better than idealised isotropic radiator which does not exist. Peak gain is measured in the direction of peak radiation.In summary, the conversation is about using a dipole radio antenna for a project in a physics degree program. The person is seeking help with understanding the beamwidth and calculating gain of the antenna. They also mention using a 25m length of coax as a feedline and attaching it to a receiver and laptop. The conversation also includes discussions about the height and frequency of the antenna, as well as the use of a balun to
Yakult
Hi guys,

I'm in my final year of my physics degree and for my first semester project I had to make a dipole radio antenna, and it's proven to be quite tricky (at least in the theory side of things). I would seriously appreciate some help with a few things if anyone has anything to offer :)

Firstly, I don't understand the beamwidth thing at all. How is it calculated? The best I've managed to find is images of the ideals but with no information as to how they're found, or an explanation. Here's the images I found of the patterns for the height I'm using:

Single Dipole ~7m (lambda 1/2) above ground
http://www.jupiterradio.com/antenna/single-dipole-7m.png
x ... ground plane - z ... zenit

http://www.jupiterradio.com/antenna/single-dipole-7m-top.png
top view

I used a ~25m length of coax as my feedline because I wanted to take readings for 48 hours to try and get some galactic drift readings so needed to keep the laptop and receiver indoors: will this have any major effects on my readings?

Also, would I go about calculating the gain of my antenna, and what exactly IS gain?