Confused EE Student: Learn How to Design Circuits from Scratch

In summary, an EE student feels confused and does not know where to start when it comes to circuit design. He recommends reading books and websites on the subject, as well as building simple circuits and studying schematics of electronic test equipment.
jesuslovesu
I am an EE student and I feel a bit confused right now, thus far I've only taken circuit analysis (nodal/mesh/thevenin/transformers/phasors etc) and one semester of E&M.

I was taking a look at this http://www.ledsales.com.au/kits/nixie_supply.pdf and I know that is explains the function of the circuit in the document, but it's like I would have no idea how to do this if I had to start from scratch. And, I have an old Radio Shack electronics kit and most of the projects in it make me feel really stupid, I would have no idea how to design a circuit from scratch that has the same functionality.

Is there anything I could do to improve my knowledge of circuit design and figure out how circuits actually work? Like in that nixie power supply, if I were just given it and had to determine what it did, I would have no idea what to do.

I have access to the Art of Electronics and Sedra/Smith and a circuit analysis book, but I don't know where to start.

Engineering news on Phys.org
jesuslovesu said:
I am an EE student and I feel a bit confused right now, thus far I've only taken circuit analysis (nodal/mesh/thevenin/transformers/phasors etc) and one semester of E&M.

I was taking a look at this http://www.ledsales.com.au/kits/nixie_supply.pdf and I know that is explains the function of the circuit in the document, but it's like I would have no idea how to do this if I had to start from scratch. And, I have an old Radio Shack electronics kit and most of the projects in it make me feel really stupid, I would have no idea how to design a circuit from scratch that has the same functionality.