A Little Guidance: Deciding on a Science Major and Career Path

• Thread starter scorpa
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Guidance
In summary, the speaker is a first-year university student who is struggling to find their academic direction. They are currently considering pursuing pharmacy or medical laboratory science, but this requires a high GPA and they are unsure if they can maintain it. They are consumed with the pressure of getting good grades and feel like they are missing out on enjoying their courses. They are also considering alternative options such as transferring to a tech school or pursuing a different science field, but they are worried about job stability. They are seeking guidance and advice from others.
scorpa
A little guidance please...

I don't know whether I'm posting this is the right spot or not...I hope I am. I'm just feeling like I need a little academic guidance right now from those who have been there.

Right now I am in my first year of univeristy, I went into it thinking I would find my niche right away and was confident it wouldn't take long before I found what I wanted to do for the rest of my life...boy was I wrong! I'm about a month and a half into my second semester and I'm still clueless. I'm currently trying to get into pharmacy or medical laboratory science (both programs require a pre-professional year) but they are so competitive (i.e you need at the very least a 3.7 GPA to be considered). I had a 3.7 coming out of the first semester, and second semester midterms are not upon me. Realistically I am not sure whether I can keep this up. I am studying 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, I have no life at all, am being forced to turn away from my hobbies, and my life is utterly consumed by having to get such a high GPA. In other words I'm not a happy camper...haha yes I know poor little me :redface: