Temperature Rise of the cooling water

In summary: The specific heat of water is 1.8 J/kg/K and the temperature is 373 K. The enthalpy of water is 18.7 kJ/kg.In summary, the Rankine cycle uses 2000 kg/s of cooling water to cool a 36 kg/s of working fluid. The temperature rise of the cooling water is found by applying the first law of thermodynamics to each control volume around the system.
shaiqbashir
Hi Guys!

well! I am studying vapor powered cycles nowadays. The topic which I am studying currently is The Rankine Cycle. I came across a question in my book . which i want you to help me out.

It is said that in the rankine cycle, in the condenser, 2000 kg/s of cooling water is used to cool a 36 kg/s of working fluid in each cycle.

Now it is asked to find the temperature rise of the cooling water. Now i know the pressure of the fluid after condensation that is 10 kPa. Now please tell me the way to find it out. I am not asking to solve me the question, just asking any hint so that i may be able to do it. Please help me as soon as possible,

Engineering news on Phys.org
In this and all similar analysis, you want to apply the first law of thermodynamics. Drawing control volumes around parts of the system will help to simplify things so you can better apply the first law.

Draw a control volume (CV) around each of the two fluids as they pass each other exchanging heat. You should be able to think of 2 control volumes, one around the water, one around the other fluid. Each of these control volumes has mass flow in, mass flow out, and either heat going in or out.

Applying the first law to each CV, you should notice the following:
1. Kinetic and potential energy can be neglected. This is generally true but you can check it if you have any doubt.
2. There is no fluid stored inside either control volume, so the change in internal energy is zero.
3. There is no work done by or on either control volume.