Design: Classroom of the Future

In summary: U-M has a really cool solution for this...they have a projector that can be moved up and down, and it can also be pivoted so that the screen is pointing directly at the front of the room. This solves the issue of people being able to see the screen, but also means that people can see the lecturer (or the slides) without having to crane their necks.
Tom McCurdy
Hello again guys,
Its been awhile since I have been able to get back here, but I have been really busy. I am currently a freshman in the engineering school at the University of Michigan.
We have just got a project and I thought that it would be nice to get the input of fellow PF members throughout the duration of the project. The project goal for my engineering team is to use past teams reports along with our own design to completely design a classroom that has been come to be known as the classroom of the future. The design of a classroom with remote collaboration in mind. This project is being done between U-M's AOSS Department and the Jet Propulsion Laboratory at Caltech, although with eye towards future collaborators.

I'm going to point out in the beginnign that if our project is selected our plan will be used for the actual construction of the classroom. Something that would look very nice for a freshman engineer.

The classroom has the following specifics
Requirements
* Live lectures to 25 students
* Video conference
o Remote guest lectures
o Team meetings and presentations with advisors
* Small team (4-5) meetings
* Workstations for systems engineering design
* Shared workstations with off campus locations
* Network and power support for laptops

Specifics
* 8 desktop workstations
* Desk seating for 25
* Seating for 25
* Current model being considered is a Medium A Standard Conference Room, Jet Propulsion Laboratory.

Considerations
New for this term: (old ones are still part of the HTML source)