Planck's law and ultraviolet catastrophe

In summary, Planck's law states that at lower wavelengths, the blackbody radiation falls to zero instead of continuing to climb as stated in the Rayleigh-Jeans law. This is due to the quantization of energy in the oscillators, which limits the amount of energy that can go into each frequency "mode" and avoids the ultraviolet catastrophe. This can be seen in the mathematical expression of Planck's law, where the probability of a compartment receiving a "quantum of water" decreases with higher frequencies, resulting in a finite amount of energy being distributed at lower wavelengths.
kwuk
Hi. I know this is a pretty basic principle, however I'm fairly new to the subject and was wondering if anyone is able to give a brief 'layman' explanation of why, as Planck's law states, at lower wavelengths the blackbody radiation falls to zero rather than continuing to climb as stated in the Rayleigh-Jeans law.

I have read a number of articles but none yet seem to have a basic enough explanation to allow me to 'picture' the principles involved.

Anyone that can help me with this would have my eternal gratitude!

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Latex Code I(\lambda,T) =\frac{2 hc^2}{\lambda^5}\frac{1}{ e^{\frac{hc}{\lambda kT}}-1}.

The above mathematical statement of Planck's law will clear the dirt. In the Rayleigh-Jeans law the function diverged for low \lambda (or in the limit \lambda -> 0), however this does happen over here. Planck assumed the quantization of energy the oscillators - they can only take up energies in bundles (or multiples of h\nu). This made all the difference for the mean energy of the dipole oscillators in his model. The Rayleigh-Jeans' Law can be derived from the Planck's law for high wavelengths.

shouvikdatta8 said:
[tex] I(\lambda,T) =\frac{2 hc^2}{\lambda^5}\frac{1}{ e^{\frac{hc}{\lambda kT}}-1}[/tex]