What do I do with these christoffel symbols?

In summary, the conversation discusses how to show that a given equation is equal to zero, and the use of the product rule and rearranging is used to try to achieve this. However, the speaker is unsure of how to eliminate the Christoffel symbols and is seeking help. It is also noted that there may be an issue with the indices used in the equations.
Sparkyboy
Hey guys I'm a bit new to GR and stuck on this question? :/. So we are given that:

d2xi/dλ2+[itex]\Gamma[/itex]ijk dxi/dλ dxj/dλ = 0

and asked to show that d/dλ(gijdxi/dλdxj/dλ) = 0

So I expanded using the product rule to get:

[itex]\Gamma[/itex]ijkd2xi/dλ2 dxj/dλ +[itex]\Gamma[/itex]ijk dxi/dλd2 xj/dλ2

Then rearranged the first equation to get:

d2xi/dλ2 = - [itex]\Gamma[/itex]ijkdxi/dλ dxj/dλ

and substituted for the second order differential equations. That's where I get stuck as I don't know how to get rid of the christoffel symbols. I read somewhere that they have a high degree of symmetry - so maybe I can change the dummy indices to get a symmetric form and they cancel? Very confused - any help would be appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
I believe you are missing a term d(gij)/dλ*...?

I guess I don't follow exactly your "expand" term. If you skipped a lot of steps, I can't do them in my head haha.

There's something wrong with the indices though, you have two of the same indices "upstairs" (implied sum or not?), which almost never happens.

1. What are christoffel symbols and why are they important in science?

Christoffel symbols, also known as connection coefficients, are mathematical objects used in differential geometry to describe the curvature of a manifold. They are important in science because they help us understand the geometry of the universe and the laws of physics that govern it.

2. How do christoffel symbols relate to general relativity?