Kepler Exoplanet findings and galactic plane question

In summary: No, the plane of the solar system is heavily inclined compared to the galactic plane. I'm not sure on how much, but I think it's somewhere around 40 degrees.
Ed Zachary
Noob here, be gentle…

I am of the understanding that the solar system formed by means of an accretion disk that made its plane normal to the sun rotation. I suppose that the Galactic plane formed by the same basic gravitational and centripetal means.

Question:
Does our Solar System’s plane match the galactic plane?

Do all (exo)solar system planes match the galactic plane? If so, why?

Do binary star systems buck this assumed trend?

The reason for the question is based on the recent findings from the Kepler Space Telescope and other ground based observatories that have been using the Transit Method to find exoplanets. To use the transit method, we would have to be in the same plane as the studied exosystems. They are looking at a small section of the sky and are finding a bunch of planets in a short amount of time. Thought crossed my mind that maybe the galactic plane had somethign to do with the vector of our suns spin.

Side thought,

I would assume that most Galaxies have too weak a gravitational bond between each other to form a Galactic Super-cluster plane but wouldn’t that be awesome. It would be like a spiral galaxy of Galaxies! And if Gravity continues to be a force beyond the known universe, could other universes be orbiting each other in some mind bendingly expansive spiral formation of universi... and to finish melting my lobes, all on the same plane as our solar system!

Thanks for looking at this post!

Physics news on Phys.org
No, the plane of the solar system is heavily inclined compared to the galactic plane. I'm not sure on how much, but I think it's somewhere around 40 degrees.

Exoplanetary systems, so far, have been randomally oriented with respect to the galactic plane to my knowledge.