Cradle to Cradle Ideas = Feasible Career Path

In summary, Miss Fangula is a fourth year college student majoring in physics but is not happy with it as she misses creating things. She is interested in pursuing a Cradle to Cradle path in her career and is considering materials science or software development as options. She is also open to getting a master's in engineering. She is seeking advice on how to transition from physics to engineering and whether it would be worth taking classes in it now.
missfangula
Hi All,

How do I begin with this long and complicated story? I am a forth year college student majoring in physics. I began college as an architecture student, made some life-altering realizations during first year that it is not truly progress at all, just a rehashing of shapes/art school, was very dissatisfied and wanted to make something truly innovative that worked well following a technical background.

Ended up in physics because engineering did not seem to cover the basics thoroughly enough for me. Along the way, I read Cradle to Cradle by Michael Braungart and William McDonough. I fell in love with the concept; actually, I had developed my own design philosophy before I came across this wonderful book, and it pretty much matched theirs.

I am not happy with physics. It is fascinating, sure, but I feel a certain emptiness brought on by not producing anything anymore. I miss creating things. I miss having an idea in my head and seeing it grow to fruition by executing it.

It it too late in my program to switch majors again. So I will most likely graduate with a bachelor's degree in physics. I have room for a minor, though, if that means anything, or maybe nothing at all, just take it easy.