Cramming: Does It Help? | Real Experiences

• Thread starter limitkiller
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discusses the effectiveness of cramming for exams and whether it leads to better grades. Some individuals have had success with cramming, while others argue that it does not promote true understanding and can negatively affect long term memory. There is also a mention of one person who consistently gets good grades without studying much, possibly due to a relaxed attitude. The group also discusses the design of exams and whether they should focus on real understanding rather than just memorization.
limitkiller
hi everyone

the thing is I crammed through school and usually got average grades.

I always thought if I studied weeks before exams I would get better grades but as it turns out it is not the case.

anyone with similar experience?cramming killed my long term memory or what?

Physics news on Phys.org
Cramming is not conducive to learning and understanding. It might get one by on one test, but if one does not learn the material, one will not advance much beyond the test or course.

But cramming seems to result in better grades for me.Is it because I am used to it or its like this for everyone?
(I am talking only about grades)

It could be you are working on more difficult material and it's just harder.

I can't really see how not cramming is worsening your exam scores.

One of my friends kinda crams before his exams...

Well its more like this, he doesn't study until pretty much a few days before the exam. When he finally does study its more like a quick read through the material rather than a madd all nighter with 10 cups of coffee and some motivational youtube videos on a constant replay. He still manages to get marks above average somehow... I think its because he's got a relaxed "yolo" attitude.

Jorriss said:
It could be you are working on more difficult material and it's just harder.

no its not that.I still get average grades when I cram.