Solving a system of linear equations with computer

In summary, a computer can solve a system of linear equations by integrating the matrix in time to plot the system response to arbitrary excitation.
cb951303
Hello, I'm a senior mechanical engineering student.

I'm trying to write an application that plots the system response for a given block diagram in frequency domain just for fun. Take the system shown on the attachment for example.

What I have in mind is to
  • find the Y/U transfer function with block diagram reduction (simplification)
  • find it's differential equation
  • separate it to first order ODEs
  • solve the ODEs and plot Y(t)

I'm aware that this is not the right forum for this but bear with me for a second.
While thinking how to make a computer do block diagram reduction I've noticed that a block diagram is nothing but a system of linear equations.
For example, the block diagram in the attachment can be represented with 3 linear equations with 3 unknowns such as this:

[tex]C=\frac{B}{E}[/tex]
[tex]G=\frac{Y}{B}[/tex]
[tex]E=U - Y[/tex]

The problem is, that the terms of these equations are not numbers but transfer functions such as:

[tex]G = \frac{1}{2s + 1}[/tex]

Since numerical libraries like LAPACK and NumPy only accepts numeric values for the coefficient matrix how can I make a computer solve this system?

Thank you in advance.

Attachments

• image6450.jpg
    image6450.jpg
    5.1 KB · Views: 443
Physics news on Phys.org
The computer solves the problem for a single value of complex s.

The easy way is to turn it into a circuit and use spice. That will integrate the matrix in time and plot the system response to arbitrary excitation.

Antiphon said:
The computer solves the problem for a single value of complex s.
can you elaborate what you mean.

The easy way is to turn it into a circuit and use spice. That will integrate the matrix in time and plot the system response to arbitrary excitation.