Interacting Spins , Heisenberg Hamiltonian , Tensor product

In summary, the conversation discusses the Heisenberg Model and its application in calculating the Hamiltonian for two interacting electrons. The Hamiltonian is represented by a matrix and involves the tensor product of the spin vector operators. The conversation also touches upon the method of diagonalizing the Hamiltonian and finding its eigenvalues. Finally, the conversation briefly mentions the construction of the Hamiltonian for three spins.
Phileas.Fogg
Hello,
I'm studying the Heisenberg Model. Given the Hamiltonian

[tex]H = - 2 \frac{J}{\hbar^2} \vec{S}_1 \vec{S}_2[/tex]

with

[tex] \begin{equation} \vec{S} = \frac{\hbar}{2} \; \left( \begin{array}{ccc} \sigma_x \\ \sigma_y \\ \sigma_z \end{array} \right) \end{equation} [/tex]

[tex] \sigma_{x,y,z} \quad {\text are \; the \; Pauli \; Matrices} [/tex]

Supposed, there are two electrons interacting antiferromagnetically.
So I have a spin-spin interaction. The first is up and the second spin is down.

The texts says that this results in the following Hamiltonian:

[tex] \begin{equation} H = - J \; \left(\begin{array}{cccc}
0,5 & 0 & 0 & 0 \\
0 & -0,5 & -1 & 0 \\
0 & -1 & -0,5 & 0 \\
0 & 0 & 0 & 0,5 \end{array} \right) \end{equation} [/tex]

I know it has something to do with the tensor product of both spin vector operators.
I tried to calculate by myself, but didn't get the correct result.

Could anyone explain, how this works?!

Thanks.

Regards,
Phileas

Physics news on Phys.org
You haven't made it very clear what goes wrong when you try to derive this.

You need to expand the dot product first (in your orginal hamiltonian you haven't included a dot product):
[tex]
H = J(\sigma_x\otimes\sigma_x + \sigma_y\otimes\sigma_y + \sigma_z\otimes\sigma_z)
[/tex]
If you have Matlab, the kron function does the direct products exactly as required.
Did you get that far?