Career Opportunities in Physics & Astronomy/Space Sciences

In summary, a high school student studying science is not clear on the career opportunities available and the future stability if they choose to pursue this field. They would appreciate if anyone could enlighten them on this subject. However, it depends on the person's math skills and background. There are few career opportunities for astronomers without a strong quantitative background, but if you're well trained in astrophysics you may be hirable in a wide variety of jobs. If you're interested in the field, I suggest applying for summer volunteer work in a lab at a university and learning programming or math.
envanyatar
Hey... I'm currently a high school student studying Science and hoping to do an undergraduate course in Physics and Astronomy or Space sciences. However, I'm not clear on the career opportunities available and the future stability if I choose to pursue this field. I would appreciate if anyone could enlighten me on this subject.

Physics news on Phys.org
envanyatar said:
Hey... I'm currently a high school student studying Science and hoping to do an undergraduate course in Physics and Astronomy or Space sciences. However, I'm not clear on the career opportunities available and the future stability if I choose to pursue this field. I would appreciate if anyone could enlighten me on this subject.