Book/website for basic overview of computers

• Thread starter 3.141592
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Computers
In summary, the conversation participants are discussing recommendations for a book or website that provides a general overview of computers, including hardware and software. They are looking for a resource that is not too basic but not too technical, and includes both conceptual and practical information. One participant mentions a book for programming, but they are not sure how to apply it to their computer. They are not looking for a job in computing, but just want to understand more about computers and be able to do more with their own. A suggestion is made to read Wikipedia for information on computers.
Hi all,

I wondered if you would mind recommending a book or website for getting a general (think broad rather than deep) overview of computers? I'm interested in both hardware and software.

My background is that I am happy to use them for the stuff I do i.e. knocking up something basic on powerpoint, word, browsing, the usual emailing or watching stuff online, skype, downloading/uploading etc. So I don't need something that starts from scratch like "This is the mouse. The mouse controls the cursor. The cursor is the little icon on screen via which you interact with the stuff on screen..." But I don't know much more than your average recreational user and non-computing uni student.