Question about refrigeration

In summary: It is a very interesting approach and I believe it has the potential to be very energy efficient.In summary, placing a cold object on the condenser/receiver side of a refrigeration system would increase or decrease the efficiency of the system as a whole.
Green Zach
Hello, I am a first year engineering student and I have a short question about refrigeration systems. Just want to clarify that this is not a homework question. Yes I do think about things like this in my spare time its just personal interest. I'm taking engineering for a reason :tongue:. Anyways i was wondering if placing a cold object on the condenser/receiver side of a refrigeration system would increase or decrease the efficiency of the system as a whole. I suspect that it would increase the efficiency because if the refrigerant is colder in the condenser (because the cold object would cool the refrigerant down) then my logic says it should condense faster (which, from what I have gathered, is the point of the condenser) and be colder when it is condensed so when it expands in the low pressure portion of the system it should get colder than it would have otherwise. Overall result is less energy input required to run the system. This makes sense to me but I just wanted a second opinion because like I said i am a first year engineering student so I accept that it is very possible for me to be completely wrong about this sort of thing. Just FYI i am not suggesting we all cool things down in our refrigerators then place the cold objects on the warm parts at the back of our refrigerators because in a best case scenario you would be wasting your time because the overall energy use of the system would be the exact same but in a real life scenario you would actually be wasting energy. the purpose of the question is to see if I understand this relationship of the system correctly.

Engineering news on Phys.org