Topology/Differential geometry versus analysis

In summary, the conversation discusses a second year student's interest in physics and mathematical physics, and their dilemma of choosing between majoring in physics and pure mathematics. The student has not taken a second year pure mathematics course and is now considering taking it in their third year along with other advanced mathematics courses such as Metric Spaces, Rings Fields and Galois Theory, Differential Geometry, and Modules & Group Representations. Some participants in the conversation argue that knowledge of analysis is essential for pure mathematics, while others suggest that topology and group representation theory are equally important. It is also mentioned that analysis and topology have various applications in physics, such as in Lagrangian mechanics, electromagnetism, and relativity. In summary, the conversation highlights the interconnectedness
jdstokes
Hi all,

I'm a second year student entering 3rd year with an interest in physics and mathematical physics. Foolishly I decided not to enrol in the second year pure mathematics course ``real and complex analysis''. My current mathematical knowledge comprises the following

First year:
Differential Calculus (Advanced)
Linear Algebra (Advanced)
Integral Calculus and Modelling (Advanced)
Statistics (Advanced)

Second year:
Linear Mathematics & Vector Calculus (Advanced)
Partial Differential Equations Intro (Advanced)
Algebra (Advanced) [a course in group theory]

I am thinking about majoring in physics and pure mathematics, with the following 3rd year maths courses. The course descriptions can be found in the handbook http://www.maths.usyd.edu.au/u/UG/SM/hbk06.html

Metric Spaces (Advanced)
Rings Fields and Galois Theory (Advanced)
Differential Geometry (Advanced)
Modules & Group Representations (Advanced)