A medical student who loves physics and wants to learn particle physics

In summary: I would recommend reading a book like The Feynman Lectures on Physics by Richard P. Feynman. It's a little more difficult, but it will give you a deeper understanding of the concepts.I'm a medical student, currently in my 2nd year of medical school. I'm absolutely fascinated by physics and if not for my dream of doing research in neurology i would have taken up particle physics.My physics knowledge is limited to what i learned upto the 12th grade but i am willing to teach myself more.So my question here is how should i go about learning particle physics on my own. How do i start, what books should i read, in what order, etc.I would
shwetaprasad
I'm a medical student, currently in my 2nd year of medical school. I'm absolutely fascinated by physics and if not for my dream of doing research in neurology i would have taken up particle physics.
My physics knowledge is limited to what i learned upto the 12th grade but i am willing to teach myself more.
So my question here is how should i go about learning particle physics on my own. How do i start, what books should i read, in what order, etc.
I would be grateful for any suggestions . Thank you :)

Physics news on Phys.org
On what level do you want to learn particle physics?

There's, of course, the popular science texts that will give you an idea of what particle physics (now called High Energy Physics, or HEP) is all about and to give you an idea of the cool stuff that it is involves.

There's also the other end of the spectrum where you can get serious and try to actually learn how to do rudimentary HEP calculations to an undergraduate level.