How are chemical bonds described by quantum mechanics?

In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of quantum mechanics and atomic bonds. The individuals involved are currently studying physics and are struggling to understand the concept of overlapping orbitals and how it relates to the formation of bonds between atoms. They also touch on the concept of potential energy and the role of the Pauli exclusion principle in atomic repulsion. The conversation concludes with suggestions for further reading and resources to better understand the topic.
quantumcat
I'm currently doing my Bachelor's in Physics(1st year). My textbooks aren't too clear on quantum mechanical concepts. "Bonds are formed by overlapping orbitals". I have several questions.
I've seen the graph of potential energy versus distance. For some pairs of atoms like hydrogen it dips at a certain distance and increases, whereas for others, like two Helium atoms it keeps going up. Why is this? I'm assuming the repulsion arises out of the Pauli exclusion principle, but why do some pairs of atoms have a lower potential state while others don't? We've dabbled a bit into molecular orbitals but its rather confusing. Is it that quantum math(Schroedinger's equation) allows such states only for certain pairs of atoms? We've not done a detailed section on Schroedinger"s equation yet, just the basics.
Next up, because all orbitals(except for s) are directional, does a bond form only when the atoms approach at a certain angle?

I look forward to a great time at Physics Forums!

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF;
The quantum mechanics of atomic bonds is usually a senior or postgrad study.
It is possible you don;t have the tools to understand it beyond "overlapping orbitals".
Is this a chemistry course you are doing?

quantumcat said: