Finding the temperature of light bulb filament?

In summary, the student is conducting an independent study project on resistance vs. temperature in non-ohmic material and is trying to find the temperature of the filament using surface temperature measurements. However, this is difficult without an optical pyrometer, which measures the color of the filament to determine its temperature. Researching color/temperature charts and using a standard photovoltaic cell may help in determining relative temperatures, but further guidance may be needed for practical application.
teatime
So for my physics independent study project. I am studying the resistance vs. temperature in non-ohmic material. I passed different currents through the light bulb and took the surface temperature with a thermocouple. How can I find the temperature of filament using the surface temperature measurement? My teacher seemed to think that would be easy, but I can't find it anywhere. Can anyone please help me? I do not want to start my project all over again and I don't know how I would even measure the temperature of the filament seeing as my school does not own a optical pyrometer.

Thanks.

Science news on Phys.org
The filament temperature will be hard to get given only bulb surface temperature measurements. However, the color of the filament is a direct indication of the temperature. Devices called optical pyrometers are used to take this type of measurement. Do some research in that direction, perhaps you can find color/temperature charts which will be useful.

The intensity of the radiation from a blackbody is proportional to the forth power of the BB temperature. You can determine relative temperatures by a standard photovoltaic cell's measurements of the emitted electromagnetic energy.

Mine is a simplification of the process you seek. Integral knows better what to do in practice, however.

1. How is the temperature of a light bulb filament measured?