Why isn't my telescope magnifying properly?

• Stargazing
  • Thread starter GetPhysical
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Telescope
In summary, the student's first telescope has problems with seeing distant objects as small points of light. He tried viewing Venus and found that it was the same size as every other star. He tried viewing the moon and found that it was not large enough to see as a whole object. He tried viewing a surface object such as a building and found that it was upside down. He tried viewing a distant nebula and star cluster and found that they were all too difficult to see.
GetPhysical
Im a Physics student at UNC-Charlotte. I just got my first telescope and I already have a problem. I can pinpoint a star and see it but it looks the same size as it does to the naked eye. I changed eyepieces and everything. Still just a tiny little dot.

Does anyone know what could be wrong with it?

Astronomy news on Phys.org
Stars (except the sun) are much too distant to see as anything more than pinpoints even in the biggest telescopes. I'd start with Venus - it's the brightest thing in the western sky right now, just after sunset.

Venus is the first thing I tried to look at. Everything I got in view was the same size.
Venus was the same size as every other star.

Let's try the moon. That should be obvious whether you are magnifying or not. (And I suspect you are)

Venus will not be very large in a small scope. What a scope will let you do more easily is to notice the phase of Venus. If it's focused, you should be able to see that Venus is not exactly round. I'm not 100% sure what the phase of Venus is now - I think it is gibbous, which means it will look round but lopsided.

A quick calculation tells me the size of the disk of Venus is somewhere around 12 arc-seconds. The moon is about 2000 arc-seconds across, so you would need a substantial magnification for Venus in the scope to have a disk as large as a naked-eye moon.