Beginner Astronomy: Telescope Advice & Tips

In summary: I mean I tried looking through a telescope before, but I'm not very good at it. I think it would be great to go to a local star party and try it out before I buy one. I live in a pretty light polluted place, so I don't think a higher power scope would be a good idea. I think I'll stick with the Orion.
Charlie G
Hey everyone, I was hoping if any experienced astronomers could help me out here. I'm looking to buy my first telescope, my main interest is in observing the planets, the moon, I don't know if this is too much or not, but I would maybe want to see some moons of the other planets and maybe get a decent look at some nebulae and possibly, a few galaxies.

One website pointed towards the Orion Skyquest XT8 as a good beginning telescope. I am looking very much towards this one, it is only $329, which is probably around my limit, I'm only a ninth grader so I don't have too much money available to me, when I showed my parents they said they were willing to go for the price but the look on there face told me that it would be best not to go any higher. According to a website, 3" apperatures are a must, this one is 8, so it sounds pretty good, though I can't say for sure becuase I have no clue how much a 5" increase in apperature would change the veiw.

Also, the site told me to subscribe to either Sky and Telescope or Astronomy magazine. Could anyone tell me which one is more helpful for a beginner. They cost about the same so I am not sure on which to choose.

Could anyone clear me up on what I should be looking for and whether or not the telescope above is a good choice, I would really appreciate it.

Thanks.

Astronomy news on Phys.org
Glad to see you're interested in starting up the hobby of astronomy!