A simple question about tensor notation

In summary, the difference between upper and lower indices in tensors signifies whether they are associated with "covectors" or "vectors". On a manifold, covectors correspond to "forms" which can be integrated without a metric. In general relativity, there is a one-to-one correspondence between covectors and vectors in the presence of a metric. Another explanation is that upper indices correspond to covectors while lower indices correspond to vectors, as explained in a physical context in the provided link. It is important to understand this concept before delving further into general relativity.
taylrl3
Hi,

I am very new to general relativity and have only just started to learn how to do some very basic manipulation of tensors. I can understand the methods I am using and have some idea of what a tensor is but am not sure what the difference between upper and lower indices signifies. I can identify that one is covariant and another contravariant but what is the difference between the two and what about when a tensor has both indices? I feel I need to clear this conceptual issue up before I can understand things further. Thanks :-)

Taylrl

Physics news on Phys.org
Usually one of them is associated to "covectors" and the other to "vectors". Both are vectors in the linear algebra sense, but on a manifold, the former correspond to "forms" which are things that can be integrated even without a metric. In the presence of a metric, as in general relativity, there is one-to-one correspondence between covectors and vectors. http://www.math.ucla.edu/~tao/preprints/forms.pdf

A perhaps more physical explanation goes something like https://www.physicsforums.com/showpost.php?p=3361102&postcount=14.

Last edited:

1. What is tensor notation?

Tensor notation is a mathematical notation used to represent tensors, which are multidimensional arrays of numbers. It is a concise way of writing complex mathematical expressions involving tensors.