Should I transfer? Is transferring LATE frowned upon?

In summary, the speaker is currently a sophomore majoring in chemistry and math at a small school that does not offer engineering or physics as a major. They have done research projects in biophysics and optics over the past two summers and have realized their interest in chemical engineering and physics through working with physicists and chemical engineers. They have recently discovered that they need a degree in engineering or physics to pursue graduate studies in those fields. They are considering transferring to a top chemical engineering school, which would delay their graduation by 2 or 3 years. However, the speaker is concerned about how this may affect their graduate school applications. They clarify that their research experience in engineering and physics was at Princeton University and a research institute in the Czech Republic.
cytochrome
I'm a sophomore chemistry/math major at a SMALL school that does not offer engineering or physics as a major.

However, I did research projects the past 2 summers in biophysics and optical related projects. I realized that I REALLY enjoyed the chemical engineering and physics aspects of the research after working with the physicists and chemical engineers on the project. I recently discovered that I need to get a degree in some sort of engineering or physics to go to grad school in chemical engineering or physics.

I've been considering transferring back home to a top chemical engineering school, but I won't be able to transfer into the school (due to requirements I'll have to take elsewhere) until NEXT SUMMER (I'll be a junior going into my senior year). I really want to study chemical engineering and/or physics though.

This means I my graduation of undergraduate school will be delayed by about 2 or 3 years.