Advice on Mathematically Intensive Research For a CS major

In summary: I still need the other courses?Assuming you want to do a Masters in Mathematics, you will need to take at least one course in advanced calculus. Without taking this course, you will be unable to do mathematical research.
monmon_4
I finished a bachelors in computer science a year ago and now work full-time. I completed calculus I/II, linear algebra, and numerical computing in undergrad and also wrote a brief term paper on numerical computations for PDEs (but only from the computational side).

I want to apply to graduate schools for mathematical sciences in the coming year and I have an opportunity to do physics/math related research with a professor from my alma mater. The nature of the research is mathematically intensive and requires knowledge of partial differential equations.

My question is this: Regarding this type of research, is it possible to proceed with my background while referring to textbooks as appropriate or is the nature of PDEs such that I would need to first take a sequence of courses such as ODE, functional analysis, and finally a course in PDE before I could even start this sort of research?

I took the approach of referring to texts when I wrote my undergrad term paper but, again, that was purely from the computational perspective and not from the mathematical side of PDEs so perhaps more accessible.

Physics news on Phys.org
If your desire is to do mathematics at graduate school, you are woefully underprepared. Before we even discuss ODE, functional analysis or PDE, you need calculus III, vector analysis, real analysis I and II, probably modern algebra, and then maybe you can move on towards measure theory.