Finding Analyticity Region of a Function - Matt

• Thread starter ultramat
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Function
In summary, the speaker is confused about how to find the analyticity region of a function. They mention the definition of an analytic function and give examples of functions that are analytic on certain regions but not on others. They ask if there is a way to compute or calculate the region instead of doing it mentally. They also bring up the concept of analytic continuation.
ultramat
Hi, I have some questions regarding how to find the analytisity region of a funtion.
I'm a little confuse after I studied the definition of analytic function: which it saids
[if a function f is differentiable at every z in A, then f is analytic on A]

eg. Log z is analytic on the entire complex plane EXCEPT the -ve real axis.
Which make sense to me since Log z is undefind when x<=0 & y=0 , for z=x+iy

Log z^2 is analytic on the entire complex plane again EXCEPT z=0, and exclude the
Imaginary axis. Is that right?

I'm wondering if there's a way to actually compute/calculate the region instead of doing it in the head?
Since Log z & Log z^2 is kinda basic, it'll be hard to do if it is comething like Log (1+2/z)

Thanks in advance

Matt

Physics news on Phys.org
log(-1) CAN be defined since e^(i*pi)=-1. The upper case 'L' in Log is not is not just ornamental. It's a branch of log that's undefined for negative reals precisely so it can be uniquely defined for all other complex numbers. You can't compute why a function like that is undefined. Where it's undefined is a matter of convention. Look up "analytic continuation".

1. What is the "analyticity region" of a function?

The analyticity region of a function refers to the set of points in the complex plane where the function is analytical, meaning it can be represented by a convergent power series. This region is also known as the domain of analyticity.

2. How do you determine the analyticity region of a function?