Speed of shaft connected to gear

In summary: The formula to convert rpm to kph using gears and a motor with different speeds of rotation is: (kmphx1000)/(60xA)
vidhyarthi
Hi all,
I'm an EE student and i have least knowledge about working of gears.
I just want to know that if there are two shafts S1 and S2 of same diameter having two gears G1 and G2 mounted on them respectively. The gear ratio is 1:2. And the shaft S1 is connected to a motor which rotates at 1000rpm. Then
Will the shafts S1 and S2 rotate at same rpm. If yes then why people say that gears are used to increase or decrease speeds. If no how their speeds are differed?

Attachments

• transmission-simple.gif
    transmission-simple.gif
    4 KB · Views: 893
Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
Keep these two things in mind about gears:

a) The tangential velocity is the same for both gears.
b) The number of teeth is proportional to the diameter of the gear.

As a consequence of a)

v = contant = R1 X angular speed 1 = R2 X angular speed 2

As a consequence of b)

gear ratio = ratio of teeth = ratio of diameters

So for a gear ratio of 2:1, the rpm ratio is also 2:1.

You need to be really careful how you write the gear ratios down, as what you've put doesn't match the drawing.

It's:
Input teeth:Output teeth

Gears can be visualised as two circles touching at a single point. With the respective diamaters being the ratio of the gears.

So you say the ratio is 2:1, but the picture shows a 1:2 ratio as the output gear is larger.

edgepflow said:
Keep these two things in mind about gears:

a) The tangential velocity is the same for both gears.
b) The number of teeth is proportional to the diameter of the gear.

As a consequence of a)

v = contant = R1 X angular speed 1 = R2 X angular speed 2

As a consequence of b)

gear ratio = ratio of teeth = ratio of diameters

So for a gear ratio of 2:1, the rpm ratio is also 2:1.