TI-89 vs. Titanium: Which Graphing Calculator Is Best for Calculus?

In summary: The big difference is the USB cable. It makes it VERY easy to transfer data to the device. I've transferred some very useful software to my calculator, and it was very painless using the USB cable.
dtl42
Hello all, I am a high school student, who will be taking Calculus I, I need to upgrade from my TI-84+SE so I am considering either the 89 or the Titanium. The only differences I know of are the memory and the processor speed. Are there any other differences?

Which have you guys used and liked?

I already ruled out HP, so don't bother trying to convince me! (I am a little resistant to change)

I know I cannot use the calculator on the exams or anything, but it will be useful for the SATs and more...

Any input is welcome.
Thanks a lot.

Computer science news on Phys.org
dtl42 said:
Hello all, I am a high school student, who will be taking Calculus I, I need to upgrade from my TI-84+SE so I am considering either the 89 or the Titanium. The only differences I know of are the memory and the processor speed. Are there any other differences?

Which have you guys used and liked?

I already ruled out HP, so don't bother trying to convince me! (I am a little resistant to change)

I know I cannot use the calculator on the exams or anything, but it will be useful for the SATs and more...

Any input is welcome.
Thanks a lot.

Get the titanium. Please please please, get in the habit of only using it to check your answers. Trust me on this.

Why the Titanium though? Its much more expensive, is the memory and speed worth anything? Does it make a difference?

dtl42 said:
Why the Titanium though? Its much more expensive, is the memory and speed worth anything? Does it make a difference?
I agree with that. My 89 is just as good as the Titanium, just without a USB cable. Yes, the clock is a bit slower but it doesn't make a noticeable difference. I prefer the 89's looks anyway.