Help! 18yo Lost in Canada | Math & Science Passion

• Thread starter jbberinger
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Lost
In summary, the person is currently 18 years old and graduated from high school last year. They are currently working and trying to figure out their life. They are from Alberta, Canada, but were born and lived in the US for the first 10 years of their life. They have a deep passion for math and science, but are currently struggling to narrow down their prospective field of study. They are currently in the process of upgrading their grades by re-doing a lot of grade 12 courses. They are going to have to decide between going to their old high school in January and taking the courses over again, or doing them at home. Another option they have is applying to a college for January and upgrading there for 2
jbberinger
I'm currently 18 years old..19 febuary. I graduated from high school last year, and I'm currently just working and trying to sort out my life. I'm living in Alberta, Canada...but I was born and lived in the US for the first 10 years of my life. My parents were born in Canada so I am a dual citizen. I would suspect this would make studying/living in the US pretty easy.

My entire life, I've had a deep passion for math and science. One problem I've had over the past years as a result of my broad interests, is narrowing down my prospective field of study. The only thing I know for a fact is that I want to go to university and study some form of math or science.

But here's the catch...
I really messed up my last year of high school because of certain problems I won't get into at the moment. So I'm sitting on an embarrassing core average. I need to get myself in gear and focus on my future. I'm going to have to do some upgrading before I can be accepted into an institution.