What can I expect from graduate level math courses?

In summary, the individual is entering grad school for math after graduating with a math major over 25 years ago. They are concerned about their rusty math skills but have been reviewing upper level undergraduate textbooks and feel confident. They are curious about the structure and classroom environment of grad level math courses. The structure and style of teaching may vary by instructor, with some incorporating more student participation and others following a lecture style. However, the individual should not worry too much as the classroom experience is likely to be similar to what they have experienced before.
drewnyl
As I mentioned in a previous post, I am entering grad school in math in fall 2010. I graduated university over 25 years ago majoring in math. My day job doesn't require the use of advanced math so I was hesitant about applying since my math skills have gotten a bit rusty. Though during the past few months I've read through a few upper level undergraduate math textbooks and I seem to be doing fine, however it's probably going to take some time to get used to doing advanced math for a good portion of my day. In all, I'm anxious to get started though I'm a bit nervous as well. Would anyone mind describing what graduate level math classes are like? I'm sure it varies by school and course, though if you can describe the basic structure of grad math courses I would appreciate it. I was also wondering... do the professors in graduate courses in math call out member of the class to answer questions without them voulenteering to answer (I used to hate when my high school teachers did this!). Any other knowledge you can provide that could help me adjust is appreciated. Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org